This is default featured slide 1 title
This is default featured slide 2 title
This is default featured slide 3 title
This is default featured slide 4 title
This is default featured slide 5 title

Jared Engagement Rings

Before you start searching for an engagement ring, there are a few things that you need to consider. You will need to know what kind of metal you want for your ring, such as:

  • Yellow gold-24 karat gold is pure gold with no other alloys. This type of gold is much too soft for jewelry so there is 18 karat gold (meaning 18 parts gold to 6 parts alloy) or 14 karat gold (most popular for rings because it is 14 parts gold to 10 parts other alloy). The alloys used are cooper and silver.
  • White gold-comes in 18 karat and 14 karat. The alloys used in white gold are copper, nickel, and zinc.
  • Platinum-has a similar look to white gold, however it’s most attractive feature is its durability. It can also develop a patina over time, some people prefer this look, but if you do not, just have it cleaned to restore its shine.Next you will need to know what type of shape you want for your stone. There are many popular styles.
  • Round Brilliant- the most common classic cut.
  • Marquise-A lengthened brilliant-cut stone that has a point on each end.
  • Princess-Usually a four-sided square to somewhat rectangular brilliant cut.
  • Radiant-Usually a somewhat rectangular to square diamond.
  • Emerald-A conventional octagonal cut regularly rectangular.
  • Asscher-Most often called a square emerald cut; this stone is step-cut and square with cut corners.
  • Heart-Extra fanciful cut, shaped just like a heart.
  • Oval-Similar to the round brilliant cut, the cut is slightly oval.
  • Pear-Joins the form and brilliance of a round stone with the lengthened sophistication of a marquise. Now you will need to familiarize yourself with the four C’s.
  • Cut- refers to the diamond’s size and finish and is the same as the make. The cut of a diamond is a gauge of the sizing, facet angles and finish.
  • Color- the color rating is the comparative position of a diamond’s body color on a colorless-to-yellow scale. The top, most striking diamonds are colorless.
  • Clarity-The diamond’s clarity is the gauge that measures the amount of a diamond that is without inclusions, extremely minute normal birthmarks that are found within most diamonds.
  • Carat- Diamonds are weighed in units called carats. A carat is measured in increments called points. One carat is equal to 100 points.